Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Palmyra Schools

District OR1 Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Palmyra FFA Awards at State Convention

 Story image 1_0

Palmyra FFA attended and competed in the 2016 State FFA convention and CDE contests in Lincoln April 6-8. There were 6200 registered members and guests at the convention at Pinnacle Bank Arena and UNL East Campus.  It is one of the state’s largest youth convention and competition in the State, 170 schools  start the competition at the District Level.

 FFA members attended award sessions, leadership workshops, Ag and Career Expos and competed in contests while at the convention.  Garret Talcott received 2nd  Gold  in Grain Production and 2nd Gold in Diversified Grain Production.  The Welding team placed 5th out of 57 teams, Drew Huxoll tied for 4th in Arc welding, Clayton Lewis was 13th in MIG welding and Alex Broening was 15th in Oxy-Act. Welding.  The Livestock Mangement team of Clayton Lewis, Elizabeth Robinett, Jonathan Fitzsimons, Makenzie Mayer, Abigail Lewis and Mady Cox place 8th as a team. The team placed 2nd in Horse management and 3rd in Poultry management.  The Agriscience team Received a white ribbon, Abigail Lewis, Thomas Doran and Briley Luff received Blue Ribbons, Lilly Calkins was also on the team. 

Garret Talcott, Clayton Lewis, Elizabeth Robinett, Houston Hornby and Drew Huxoll received the State FFA Degree.  They were among the 499 FFA seniors that qualified to receive the degree in the State of Nebraska.  To receive the degree students must be enrolled in Agricultural education classes, participate in a Supervised Agricultural  Experience, complete a record keeping system earning or working towards a total of $3500. Show progress and the skills they have completed, participate in community activities, FFA activities and pass an interview session on their SAE and Nebraska FFA knowledge. There are over 7400 FFA members in Nebraska and it is a rapidly growing and largest organized  Agriculture Youth group in the United States with over 630,00 national members.